History of Ringkøbing Fjord Museums
The story of Ringkøbing Fjord Museer is a bit of a hodgepodge. Popular engagement in old association-run museums meets tourism and a focus on experience and attractions.
In 1908, a group of citizens set up Ringkøbing Museum and its museum association. The museum focused on archaeology and shipwrecks and eventually took several departments under its wing.
In 1929, Skjern Museum saw the light of day. During the 1970s, Tarm Municipality joined - and with it our first hyphen: Skjern-Egvad Museum. The museum focused on the Viking Age and man's interaction with nature and culture.
In connection with the local government reform in 2007, Ringkøbing Museum and Skjern-Egvad Museum merged. Five small municipalities became Ringkøbing-Skjern Municipality, and the old museums became Ringkøbing-Skjern Museum. In the following years, Abelines Gaard and Lyngvig Fyr on Holmsland Klit and Kaj Munks Præstegård in Vedersø were also added.
In 2022, new merger processes were initiated. Fiskeriets Hus in Hvide Sande is now run in close cooperation with the museum, and the museum also runs Naturkraft in Ringkøbing.
In 2023, the new collaborations were marked with a new name: Ringkøbing Fjord Museer You will meet us as local cultural offerings and as tourist attractions all around Ringkøbing Fjord .
In 1922, Ringkøbing Museum moved into the new museum building on Herningvej.
The Skjern Museum opened in the facility in Skjern.